Home > General, Holidays > Back in the Eastern Province

Back in the Eastern Province

I was hoping I would catch a little bit of winter this year, as I’ve only been visiting Saudi Arabia during summers for the last three years. I really miss winter for many reasons. I miss being able to play basketball or soccer at the beach during any time of the day. I really miss the cold early morning runs. I miss wearing my old jacket. I miss not having to restrict my driving hours from late morning to late afternoon.

Sadly, I didn’t make it in time this year. However, I was lucky the weather was fair and it didn’t start getting humid. I’d go to the beach and swim in the freezing waters to try and get some of my training for next year’s triathlon. As usual, no one else is in the water and everyone was looking at me weird. Sadly, I wasn’t able to go cycling as this trip was just 3 weeks and wasn’t worth packing the bike and flying it all the way.

Living away from home makes you appreciate many things you’d take for granted. For one, home-made food. It was the highlight of my trip. I miss the vast variety of dishes served up in restaurants. Being a gear head and and a lover of the open road, I missed driving from city to city visiting friends and family, especially the cheap petrol prices that allowed me to zip all around the province.

Sadly, like all good things, the three weeks flew by and it was time for me to pack up again; mainly dates since I’ll be fasting in Malaysia during Ramadhan Insha’Allah.

And for those of you who always wonder, what’s the difference between a normal day and a dusty day in Saudi Arabia, here are two pictures from the same location.

Rahima Corniche 1

That dusty day...

On a normal day...

Categories: General, Holidays
  1. Mario
    August 14, 2011 at 9:18 PM

    Beautiful Blog!

  2. Sam
    August 14, 2011 at 10:45 PM

    Thanks for stopping by Mario!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

