Killer Roads

 

Race
Resembles your average commute on a Saudi freeway – minus the decals

A recent Arabnews article brought back certain memories. Having spent quite some time driving in Malaysia, I have somehow forgotten the many driving experiences and close calls I’ve had on Saudi roads.

 

Related:
Joy Riding – Death Penalty
After 35 Years
Saudi Autobahn
 
 
  1. lightcontrast
    June 11, 2007 at 3:46 AM

    I can only imagine the driving conditions. A few years back my uncle in Taiwan, got in a bad accident. He was driving in the traffic. He couldn’t walk for a few months.

  2. ALi
    June 11, 2007 at 1:43 PM

    That’s right. I myself have had many close cases with crazy drivers there and a cousin of mine was not so fortunate. til this day you can notice a small limp when he walks

  3. hema
    June 11, 2007 at 11:56 PM

    The most frustrating part is driving safely and then seeing some other driver come by you in a wreckless manner nearly throwing you off the road. i dont think this will stop anytime in our lifetime

  4. Daisy
    June 12, 2007 at 3:42 AM

    Here in Malaysia we have our own problems which are mainly the reckless motorcycle riders. These guys and kids terrorize other drivers even those of big trucks since they have to avoid running them over. They usually travel in groups of up to 15 to 20 and harrass whomever they feel like. Despite the police force’s best efforts in putting an end to this, they can’t really catch the millions of bikers in all cities.

  5. Sam
    June 12, 2007 at 5:43 AM

    lightcontrast: It’s really devastating when anyone is hurt in an accident. Not only does that memory stay in their heads, but we too start worrying when out in our cars, especially in Saudi Arabia.

    Ali: The worst thing are those constant reminders of an accident…hope your cousin’s coping well.

    hema: Sadly, I have to nod in agreement there. Unless police adopt the most extreme and expensive methods, these freak shows will never come to an end.

    Daisy: Mat rempit is it? I’ve seen them, and although I’ve never been terrorized by any, I’ve had those close calls when driving and they happen to suddenly swerve in front of my car, missing my front bumper by a few inches. What’s even more frightening is the number of minors riding those bikes.

  6. Santosh
    June 15, 2007 at 10:05 PM

    You have a nice blog Sam. I happened to come across it thru a search engine. We have the same menace drivers here in Malaysia as well and horrific accidents do happen daily. Especially the motorcycle riders who go out in groups sometimes and reak havoc in the streets at nighttimes.

  7. Lidia
    June 16, 2007 at 3:34 AM

    I had many close calls ever since I got my driver’s permit and it has not been an enjoyable experience. And to make it all worse, my little perodua cannot stand even the slightest crash so I am always on the lookout .You should be careful when driving among those bikers when they are in groups. I have heard many reports of them ganging up on innocent people for the fun of it.

  8. Edrina
    June 16, 2007 at 4:59 PM

    It’s not that much different in Malaysia. I hear about ugly accidents almost everyday and police are always on the lookout for dangerous drivers. I remember my closest call once on the Cheras highway when one of the big long destination buses tried to overtake me on the service lane on the left and had to push me aside when he realized that the lane was too tight. If I had not been alert I would have been smashed between a truck and the bus and my small Kancil would not have been much protection.

  9. February 7, 2008 at 12:56 AM

    Hi,
    I like the way you write ..Its really different and interesting … keep the momentum going ..
    brilliant. .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

