Home > College, Hope, Life, Opinion > Of Hope & Despair

Of Hope & Despair

It’s been a long one since I’ve last had time to blog. It’s partly due to exam season now being in full swing. Due to that, I won’t be posting much until exams are over.

Till then, I leave you with a question.

Every night I sleep with a new hope for a peaceful Darfur, with the families of those like Ibrahim having the right to a safe return and a compensation for all they have been through by not only the Sudanese government, but the rest of the Islamic world, for clearly ignoring their cries. Each night, I rest on my pillow with a new hope for a peaceful Somalia, with the clans putting aside their insignificant tribal differences and realizing they have more in common with each other than a Hassawi and a Hijazi. Every night, I close my eyes with a new hope to open them the next morning with news of a liberated Palestine. Every night I sleep with a new hope that the next morning will not start with another report of a bomb in Iraq, where Mohammed, Abbas, and Ali have been reduced to nothing but mere statistics.

But every morning I wake up with that hope flickering like a candle in the wind, and the breeze is picking up.

How much hope is left in you?

Categories: College, Hope, Life, Opinion
  1. OJ
    April 29, 2007 at 10:12 AM

    Not much hope left, but hope is all we have at times like these.

  2. Philosopher
    April 29, 2007 at 3:40 PM

    We all yearn for peace and tranquility, but all we get is more violence. I am sometimes lead to wonder why those that fight and kill each other in this endless chaos can’t think of what actually happen if they don’t do that single act of revenge. That’s how peace come about. With one person stopping to think before he commits another act of violence.

  3. Faisal
    April 30, 2007 at 1:59 AM

    I try not to lose hope when things go bad. With every hardship comes ease.

  4. Aurora
    April 30, 2007 at 4:12 AM

    I have to admit it, I am losing hope as well. Theres just so much hatred and violence going on in the world and so many people suffering unnecessarily I sometimes feel like no one cares at all. And everytime I read something like this and see that someone actually cares, I feel some more hope.

  5. Naima
    May 1, 2007 at 5:39 PM

    May we all wake up one day with those dreams as realisations. keep working hard for you exam and khayr inshallah

  6. May 2, 2007 at 7:15 AM

    Martin Luther once said that if you lose hope, somehow you lose the vitality that keeps life moving, you lose that courage to be, that quality that helps you go on in spite of it all. And so till this day I still have that hope to see everyone living in peace.

  7. Arabian Princess
    May 2, 2007 at 8:20 AM

    Hope is all we got when all else fails, and to lose that last bit of hope as well is to lose everything.

  8. Yusef
    May 4, 2007 at 7:42 AM

    I always try to look at things as if there still is light at the end of the tunnel. I try not to lose hope.

  9. The Professor
    May 8, 2007 at 11:49 AM

    What would be left without hope? We can’t give up hope because we all need something to hold on to during difficult times.

    PS. Good luck with your exams.

  10. Sharif
    May 9, 2007 at 7:31 AM

    I have no lost hope because hope is all that is left when all else fails to work. Hope is what keeps us going through rough times, and even though some people try to sell us some false hope, we still can’t abandon it because we need it to survive those harsh moments in life. I hope all those people see peace in their lives

  11. Maryam
    May 13, 2007 at 12:33 PM

    The pessimist sees difficulty in every opportunity. The optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty. And since I believe in optimism, I still have enough hope in me.

    Good luck with your exams.

  12. Calvin
    May 20, 2007 at 9:24 AM

    Lets not lose hope.It is the thing that makes us look forward to life. good luck with your exams by the way.

  13. lightcontrast
    May 30, 2007 at 12:19 AM

    I don’t have much hope for the current state of affairs in the US. I am however, looking forward to elections in November of 2008. Though I’m not sure how much the new President can or will do to improve conditions.

    As to my personal life, hope is what keeps me going. Some days, I do despair and I have felt like I have no reason to go on, but then why am I still here? Ever stop to admire nature? It’s amazing and you just feel this immense sense of appreciation for life.

  14. March 20, 2009 at 5:58 AM

    I urge you all to not lose hope especially the owner of the post. As a young 20 yr old, who grew up here in the west for practically all my life I want you to know that Somalia will inshallah become the peaceful country it once was. I honestly feel that there are fair more good people out there who wish to see good, but they silence their voice thus allowing the warlords to continue on with their agenda of killing all those other than their immediate clan. Let us wake up and become the change we wish to see in not only Somalia but in the Muslim world. With numbers we will be able to bring about change. Let us join hands, and give strengthen to those who often keep silent, thinking that they are alone in their thinking when in fact there are far more good hearted individuals who are ready to yell out ” ENOUGH IS ENOUGH”.

    Long live somaliweyn n the Muslim world

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

