Life Means…

February 19, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I gaze above at the black velvet sky, and without me knowing my eyes get locked onto to the sparkling stars, my mind gets lost into the twinkling shine, my soul doesn’t realize that it is breathing, and most of all I get lost into a world where I have never been. The darkness gets darker and the stars shine brighter as my soul and my mind meet as if they have never met before. All of a sudden the stars started to speak & they posed a question to me, “What does life mean to you?” this was a question that I had never thought about, for which my mind had no answer to, but then my soul uttered in a low & freaky voice, “I know!” and the all of a sudden the stars lost their sparkle and said, “tell us!” at this very moment my soul began to travel in the vortexes of my heart and itself as I began a journey inside me…

Humans no matter whom, what, or from where, have all sorts of ambitions, goals, aims or a reason to live, that reason is created or given birth from our understanding to the meaning of life. As I start the journey my mind sends impulses to my soul that at this phase in life I may not be able to comment on this question, but then my soul reacts and says, “my meaning of life is absolutely right” and with this thought I begin the journey.

I begin to fall deeper & deeper into my heart and realize that here is a world for which I have always dreamt to live in, a world that deserves so much more and a world that makes me what I am, what I seize to be & what makes me, me. As I focus more and more onto the meaning of life I realize that life isn’t a game that one plays, nor is it a dream that one lives in, but yet life is a set of colors, and our soul is the brush. Thus it is up to us on how & what we paint with these colors. As this reflection is complete I arrive in the central vault of my heart I see all of these colors splashed on to the canvas and the canvases speak a story for themselves. Yet as I view these paintings and get lost deeper & deeper into myself I here a voice, “Life means, what you have done during the last 20 years…”

As this phrase was uttered, I felt a chill run through my soul and the walls of my heart shook and the air of confusion surrounded the environment. Slowly as the stormy air of confusion settled my heart & my soul began to reflect on what I have done over the past 20 years. Not knowing where to start from my soul began to question itself and tried to inquire about what was completed over the past 20 years. As this whirlpool of thoughts spun its confusion into my mind & my heart was filled with colossal darkness my soul lit a match and my eyes got sheltered onto a canvas, the canvas read, “find out the meaning…”

At this instant I had come to grasp that for me life was a beautiful, long & lonely journey which I have made all alone for the last 20 years. A journey from the sun all the way to the canvases of my loved ones, and on their canvases I the brush had painted their lives. I consider myself to be a small particle that travels in the rays of the sun all the way from the sun into the lives of my loved ones, and my only goal is to shed luminosity into their lives and to do this everyday, yet each day I have to shine more & more, my craving to shed so much light into their lives that shadows could not even put a stride into the lives of my loved ones. Yet this was the painting on one of the canvases, however as I gazed around my eyes got set on to another canvas & this is how that canvas outspread its anecdote.

On this canvas my spirit saw myself as a candle, and all this candle did was to burn itself and burn to propel away the shadows from the life of my loved ones. Then my soul fell into a abstraction and in that abstraction it realized that life meant, to burn myself like a candle to hurl luminosity into the lives of others. This light or luminosity has many angles, which the universal layman cannot comprehend. Thus let me grate this luminosity into pieces so everyone can understand the meaning of life.

This ball of luminosity can be peeled into pieces; each piece once together makes that particle that is known as the infinitesimal light particle in the ray of the sun. One must be thinking that this particle of luminosity has only one aim and that is to shed light, but that’s not true, it has many perspectives. This ball has many electrons & protons, these protons & electrons all work together to assist this light giving atom. Life means to compromise, to sacrifice to put others first and most of all live for others. At this instance I would like to shape that one must feel that I must be stupid, but there are always two sides to a coin and the second side is to, put only those who you love, those who mean life to you first. It is at this pinnacle in time when for a period of 20 years all you have done is to put others first that one can yield the maximum satisfaction in life. It is at this point when you know that the concentration of your shining is so dazzling that you can shine no brighter.

The next question that comes to mind is, “Who are these loved ones?” well in my life these loved ones consist of three branches, all of these branches have their roots planted in my heart. The first root is that of family, the second of friends, & the third my wife & her family. For the first branch I have been shining since I was born and I shall continue to do so for eternity, for the second branch I have been shining since they settled in my heart, and I can recall that only a few exist for whom I want to shine till the day in which my light is stolen by god. Lastly my wife and her family this branch hasn’t grown yet but one thing is for certain and that is the fact that my entire life has been devoted to her and I shall shine for her till I can shine no more, and that day would be the day till I can live no more.

To me life means to meet every single expectation of these loved ones, even before they can think of it, to solve every problem of theirs before they can even grieve over it, to catch every tear before it hits the ground, to make them smile whenever they are down, to be by there side at all times so they never feel lonely. Yet if someone took a peak in my soul at this moment, then all they would see in my soul is eternal darkness, a craving for someone to do all this for me, but there is only one element that has so much light and energy that by putting others first that light & energy overcomes this eternal darkness, and that element is the heart, the heart where all my life lies, where all my happiness lies and the element in which I myself live. The rays of the sun make the faces of all my loved ones, yet it is these faces that are my partners for my entire lifetime. Their eyes and my eyes are rivers and our eyelashes are the shores, but is through the path of these eyes through which I get into the heart of my loved ones. To find all my loved ones I have crossed the mountains and found them in the depth of the oceans, and this is what makes them so special. In life we all fall down at times but life actually means to get up from these troubles, even the best fall down at times, even the wrong words seem to rhyme, out of the words that come from the mind, you and I COLLIDE, it is life and the heart that collides. To me this is the essence of life, and it is to keep everyone around you happy at all times. To make them think of you as one of the people who they can always rely on, to make your name be called as the first person who they can count on, to devote all your light to their lives, and most of all to be so nice to them that they feel as the most special star in the universe.

Life means the happiness that others reap because of you, it means to add one smile to their face that takes away all there sorrows, yet it has always been my aim that I shouldn’t show them how much darkness lies within me. It is to respect them, to love them beyond the boundaries of their beckoning. To give them so much that they count on you at all times, to cross all the boundaries of imagination for them and to always go the extra mile because of them & for them. What does all this add up to? Eternal happiness that takes away the darkness in me, that adds as fuel to increase the intensity of my light. And so far I have only been burning at 20% intensity, everyone in my life deserves more a lot more and life is the name of the promise that I shall give a lot more to all these loved ones for eternity. 

Well finally to sum all this up my life means… My heart is the painting brush & my soul is the container of colors with which I paint a collage of confusion in my life but for others I paint a picture that is so beautiful that for every painting they pick me up as the brush with which they wish to pain their lives or souls.Note: This literary piece is an unedited version written by an old time friend and writer, Awais M. Iqbal.

  1. Ali
    February 20, 2007 at 8:07 AM

    That’s one deep article and very well written too. And what a way to conclude it too.

  2. Mona
    February 20, 2007 at 10:08 AM

    Wow that is one great article and the wording is just magnificent.

  3. February 20, 2007 at 1:53 PM

    I love this piece!! It’s touching!

  4. Mai
    February 20, 2007 at 2:09 PM

    I agree the essay was great and had a deep meaning to it. Sam your friend is a good writer. Does he have other articles?

  5. Gary
    February 20, 2007 at 2:41 PM

    I enjoy reading articles that make you reflect upon life and this was one of the best I have read so far.

  6. February 20, 2007 at 5:32 PM

    Marvelous read. Seems your friend got bit by the philosophy bug. It is a risky bug but a risk worth taking.

  7. Danielle
    February 20, 2007 at 7:45 PM

    I spent nearly 15 minutes reading this article and I love every bit of it. ur friend has a talent for writing.

  8. Paul
    February 20, 2007 at 11:15 PM

    That is one amazing article. Very well and eloquently written.

  9. Fred
    February 21, 2007 at 1:48 PM

    I was searching for articles on philosophy and was directed to ur site. This article is nothing short of amazing.

  10. Sami
    March 18, 2007 at 6:39 AM

    My God, you me tear up. Master piece =]

  11. July 19, 2009 at 1:22 PM

    amazing i loved it…does ur friend have a blog

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

