Home > KSA, Life, Other Blogs, Sports > Might as well live in Pluto

Might as well live in Pluto

I’ve been stuck in this desert for over 3 months now. It’s not like I am stuck at home like some unfortunate people, but there’s really no change once I go outside either. It’s either I stay home and feed myself some novels or work on some sketches or programs; or I go out and drive around like some lifeless retard with no home and a car with a gas thank that magically never gets empty.

You might think that the latter is impossible, as I once did, but from my years of living here, I’ve come to learn that aside from a nice hubbly bubbly hangout, the next greatest pastime for many of the younger Saudi males is driving around in their cars (usually a Camry or Hilux or Nissan pickup) and terrorizing the neighborhoods they live in by circling around the blocks hour after hour (prayer times included). 

I have a car, got gas, got free time, but what would I gain from cruising around the same street from morning till sunny morning? I’d rather ride my bike for a good cardio or jog outside…or even cleanthe car. Then a couple of Saudis ask why I still have a bike…or why I walk to Panda or even why I sometimes clean my car instead of paying an expat 10 riyals. I guess they’d be happy if I joined in their lunchtime kabsa matches and evening cruises listening to that droning voice of Mohammed Abdo (he has some nice songs tho). 

And then there are those afternoons where I feel like playing some ball and have to resort to going all the way to Aramco or someone signing me in a compound just so I can play. Although it’s a far fetched dream, I wonder when the gov’t will build some public courts…public as in aside from one or two clubs scattered around the cities. Having a make-shift soccer field is easy but you can’t just play basketball in the street.

Any suggestions of what to do…? Any places worth visiting in KSA? All ideas welcome…as long as they’re sane.

Categories: KSA, Life, Other Blogs, Sports
  1. Yousef
    August 18, 2006 at 11:36 AM

    lool @ terrorizing neighborhoods. thats why i live in a compound and since its summer, i have to go out on a vacation instead of staying bored in this heat.

    tried visiting malls? i don’t do it but many tell me its fun.

  2. Sam
    August 18, 2006 at 12:22 PM

    Malls? No thanks bro…there are enough mall rats to populate those places. Besides…I guess you heard of the new ‘entrance’ fees imposed on single males entering malls.

  3. May
    August 19, 2006 at 11:22 AM

    Malls are boring, even for me being a shopaholic. I have covered nearly every inch of Rashid Mall and am waiting for the extension to be finished. I just came back from a vacation and honestly can’t think of anything fun here so my only advice to you is get a ticket and take a two week vacation before schools start.

  4. an
    August 19, 2006 at 2:46 PM

    The bridge to Bahrain isn’t far from where you live. That’s a place with real fun

  5. Sam
    August 20, 2006 at 10:31 AM

    May: I wouldn’t chill at a mall unless my life depended on it…even then maybe not. Packing my clothes and going on a vacation would be lovely but it’s not likely at this time of the year. Thanks for the suggestion tho.

    A: Bahrain…movies, clubs, and hookers. Seen all the movies, I don’t drink, and I certainly don’t pay for sex.

  6. Omar
    August 21, 2006 at 11:02 AM

    Sam nigga wtf you doin in SA at this time of year? Besides thought u was going to drive to Jeddah.

  7. AJ
    August 21, 2006 at 8:11 PM

    Bro without homeboys its shit boring over there. Fuck you cant even play ball since the closest courts need ova 15 minutes of drivin n then u gotta shoot hoops alone since theres no one. better get out quick

  8. Reem
    August 21, 2006 at 9:50 PM

    im a shopaholic so my only suggestion is the mall. try it sam its fun

  9. MJ
    August 23, 2006 at 6:05 AM

    wht the hell are you doin in saudi at this time? i wont be comin down till winter. man get the hell outta there

  10. Sam
    August 23, 2006 at 12:04 PM

    Omar: I’m just chilling here…I’ll be out in a month or so.

    AJ: Damn right…I’m keeping myself occupied with family work and running errands for dad.

    Reem: The word ‘shopping’ doesn’t exist in my dictionary, and ‘malls’ don’t exist on my map.

    MJ: Bro it’s a long story…read the previous posts…

  11. Chris
    September 1, 2006 at 3:31 AM

    Sam what are you doing there? Haven’t you left for the new semester yet?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

